Cardigan Mountain School A boarding and day school for boys in grades 6 through 9

Fall Sports Awards 2019

Sports awards

Cardigan’s 2019 Fall Sports Awards recognized our student-athletes who went above and beyond in their athletic skills, displayed sportsmanship on and off the field, were dedicated members of their team, and upheld Cardigan’s Core Values. 

Master of Ceremonies: Yaneik Gallego ’20
Athletic Director: Mr. Ryan Frost
Assistant Athletic Director: Ms. Julia Ford

Varsity Football

Granite Tough: Franklin Chow ’20
Mr. Reliable: Bochen “Victor” Zhu ’20
Most Improved: Chengze “Leon” Li ’20
Speaker: Conley Bohan ’21

JV Football

MVP: Joaquin Vargas Deandar ’21
Most Improved Player: Chris Kinne ’22
Heart and Hustle: Noah Couttolenc Flores ’21
Speaker: Juno Cowans ’20

Sports awards

See more photos from Cardigan's 2019 Fall Sports Awards

Varsity Soccer

Coaches Award: Bryce Terry ’20
Coaches Award: Zachary Hawthorne ’20
Coaches Award: Jenson Smock ’21
Speaker: Gabe Raphael ’21

JV Soccer

Offensive MVP: Owen Tatro ’21
Defensive MVP: Connor Pollard ’20
Coaches Award: Heesung “Daniel” Jung ’21
Speaker: Edward “Teddy” Stettinius ’21

Thirds Soccer

MVP: Bernardo Ortega Franco ’21
Most Improved Player: Brendan Agnew ’21
Speaker: Shijia “Mac” Wang ’21

Fourths Soccer

Coaches Award: Conor LeRoy ’23
Heart and Hustle Award: Austin Knott ’21
Speaker: Edward “Tedy” O’Keefe ’21

Reserves Soccer

Golden Boot: Diego Villarreal Cantu ’21
Most Improved: Collin Leach ’22
Speaker: Alex Wang ’23

Sports awards

See more photos from Cardigan's 2019 Fall Sports Awards

Varsity Cross Country

Pain Cave Award: Diego Escalante ’20
“Next Generation” Coaches Award: Junkai “Tiger” Yang ’22
Couch to 5K Award: Kolapat “Pi” Mongkhonvanit ’20
Speaker: Tom Choi Wo Li ’20

JV Cross Country

Positive Attitude Award: Zihan “Harrison” Huang ’21
Grit Award: Yixuan “Kyle” Jia ’21
Most Improved Award: Ian McDonnell ’22
Speaker:  Kam Wun “Sky” Wong ’20

Varsity Mountain Biking

Coaches Award: Wilfrido Castillo Topete ’20
Coaches Award: Gabe Brondel ’20
Speaker: Miles Kim ’21

JV Mountain Biking

Coaches Award: Mark Anstiss ’21
Coaches Award: Landon Beattie ’22
Most Improved: Jihun “Eric” Lim ’20
Speaker: Yoon-gi “Mike” Lee ’20

Thirds & Reserve Mountain Biking

Coaches Award: Francisco Concha Alvarez Jr. ’21
Most Improved: Jaeson Cabrera ’22
Most Improved: Abraham Shepherd ’23
Speaker:  Andrew “Boo” Pilaro ’20

Rock Climbing

Coaches Award: Owen Reilly ’20
Speaker: Chadchanad “Chad” Naothaworn ’21


Heart of the Sea Award: Charlie Wilson ’21
Even Keel Award: Haohui “Josh” Hou ’21
Courageous Crew: Pearse Cobb ’20
Speaker: Ben Ely ’21

Sports awards


Recent News


Sign-up for "To The Point," our email newsletter with news, events, and photos. Sent once a week during the school year.

Cardigan Chronicle

Read the latest issue of the Cardigan Chronicle! Published twice each year, featuring articles, updates on academic programs, campus projects, photographs from events, and much more.