Cardigan Mountain School A boarding and day school for boys in grades 6 through 9

Day Students

Day students are an essential and valued part of our community and we welcome their involvement in all areas of school life. Given the current pandemic, we ask that all day students and day student families support the health and safety of the Cardigan community by following specific guidelines in general and with respect to their daily schedule.


Day Student Procedures, 2020-2021

The following procedures are also detailed in the Student Handbook Addendum. If you have any questions, please contact Nick Nowak, our Director of Student Life and the Day Student Liaison at Cardigan. He can be reached at nnowak@cardigan.org or (603) 523-3509.

General Expectations

Report Symptoms Immediately

We ask that if your child or a member of your household experiences any COVID-19 symptoms, including cough, shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, nasal congestion, fatigue, fever, chills, muscle aches, headaches, sore throat, nausea or vomiting, diarrhea, and/or loss of taste or smell, that you and your child remain off campus until the symptoms have abated and you are provided clearance by a medical professional that you or your child are no longer contagious.

Heightened Vigilance when Off-Campus

We ask that day students follow the same heightened expectations of our boarding students when off-campus – i.e., consciously isolating themselves from those outside the Cardigan community (e.g., not participating in outside youth leagues and organizations, athletic tournaments and showcases, visits to extended family, etc.).

Daily Screenings

Out of an abundance of caution, day students will undergo daily screenings and temperature checks before joining in regular school activities. We appreciate your adherence to these protocols, and encourage you to reach out for clarity with any questions or concerns.

Avoid Dormitories

We ask that day students do not enter dormitories. The Haven (located in the ground floor of the Commons) has been set aside as a “home base” for day students during the 2020-2021 school year, and will serve as a place for students to store their belongings during the school day.

Daily Screening Protocol

  • Arrive on campus with family member, and drop off at the back door of the Commons. Family members should please stay in the car.
  • Students enter the Haven and undergo the daily screening process. This includes the following:
    • Temperature is taken.
    • Answer the following screening questions:
      • Have you been in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19 (Yes/No)?         
      • Have you had a fever or felt feverish in the last 72 hours (Yes/No)?                
      • Are you experiencing any respiratory symptoms including a runny nose, sore throat, cough, or shortness of breath (Yes/No)?          
      • Are you experiencing any new muscle aches or chills (Yes/No)?    
      • Have you experienced any new change in your sense of taste or smell (Yes/No)?
  • All responses are recorded.
  • If the student’s temperature is > 100 degrees Fahrenheit OR if he answers “Yes” to any of the questions, the Health Center will be contacted immediately.

Once cleared, students should proceed to breakfast and classes.

2020-21 Calendar

Helpful Contacts


Josh LeRoy
Assistant Head of School & 
Dean of Faculty

jleroy@cardigan.org

Steve Solberg
Assistant Head of School &
Chief Financial Officer

ssolberg@cardigan.org

Joe Burnett
Director of Development & 
International Relations

jburnett@cardigan.org

Jamie Welsh
Dean of Academics
jwelsh@cardigan.org

Nick Nowak
Director of Student Life
nnowak@cardigan.org

Danielle Fedele
Dean of Students
dfedele@cardigan.org

Karen Gray
Director of Health Services
kgray@cardigan.org

Trish Hutchinson
School Counselor
thutchinson@cardigan.org

Erzi Willems
Travel Coordinator
ewillems@cardigan.org

Nichole Marcy
Registrar
nmarcy@cardigan.org

Ryan Frost
Director of Athletics
rfrost@cardigan.org

Chip Audett
Director of Admissions
caudett@cardigan.org

Michel Gray
Director of Technology
mgray@cardigan.org

Kris Langetieg
Director of Secondary School Counseling
klangetieg@cardigan.org