Skip To Main Content
Cardigan Mountain School A boarding and day school for boys in grades 6 through 9

Distance Learning

Cardigan History teacher Donna Fedele teaches class

Cardigan began distance learning April 6.

We are proud of the plan our faculty has assembled for the boys. Please refer to this page often for updates to the plan and suggestions how to help your son through this challenge. 

Cardigan has developed a distance learning plan that retains the mind-body-spirit philosophy that makes the Cardigan experience powerful and unique. Our plan combines instruction in core academic classes with activities and opportunities designed to promote a more holistic approach to learning and a sense of community.

Update (posted 5/1/20): In response to feedback from students, families, and faculty we have made three small adjustments to our daily schedule in order to continue to best accommodate our students in different time zones:

  • Our academic day will now end no later than 12:50 p.m. Eastern US time for boys.  
  • Open Office Hours (where teachers and boys can connect to pursue a deeper understanding of topics, review work, or do homework) will now run from 1:45-2:45 p.m.
  • Boys will receive updated pdf schedules from their advisors and can request them from their advisors.
     

Download the Plan (PDF)

Distance Learning Grading Guidelines (PDF)

Code of Conduct for Online Learning (PDF)

Recent Messages from the Dean of Academics

Distance Learning FAQs

Athletics

Athletics Distance Learning begins Wednesday, April 8 on Powerschool.

The mission of Cardigan’s athletic program is to support the School’s mission in educating boys in mind, body, and spirit by promoting healthy living and an active lifestyle. This mission holds true regardless of where we find ourselves.

The COVID-19 crisis has unfortunately had a significant impact on our spring athletic season, but we can still be together in spirit, working alongside our fellow Cougars both in the classroom and out. What follows is an overview of our spring athletic program for the next several weeks, adapted to suit the circumstances. Though participation is optional, we invite everyone to join your fellow Cougars and find ways to stay active!

A Message from our School Counselor

Helpful Contacts


Josh LeRoy
Assistant Head of School & 
Dean of Faculty

jleroy@cardigan.org

Steve Solberg
Assistant Head of School &
Chief Financial Officer

ssolberg@cardigan.org

Jamie Welsh
Dean of Academics
jwelsh@cardigan.org

Nick Nowak
Director of Student Life
nnowak@cardigan.org

Joe Burnett
Director of Development & 
International Relations

jburnett@cardigan.org

Karen Gray
Director of Health Services
kgray@cardigan.org

Michel Gray
Director of Technology
mgray@cardigan.org

Ryan Frost
Director of Athletics
rfrost@cardigan.org

Chris Adams
Director of Communications & Marketing
cadams@cardigan.org